h1

Richard’s Class

December 3, 2006

Perhaps I can blame my lack of email updates in the last few weeks on Richard’s Systematic Theology class. We had class 3 hours per day, 4 days per week, for all of the last month. It was intense. Especially since Richard and I were constantly working up until the last minute to get his notes ready. In the end, the notes were about 400 pages long. There was NOTHING else happening in my life during the weeks that we had class. It was kind of sad. But I am done now. All that remains is the final exam and I am unlikely to attend, as I don’t really have any purpose in being there.

I am both relieved and sad that the class is over. I enjoyed the challenge of it, Richard is an excellent teacher, and I was learning and growing a lot through the experience. The class content is still going deeper in my heart and becoming clearer in my understanding. I am frequently impacted by something I come across in the notes (for the first time or for the fifteenth time) as I am editing them.

The primary source of growth, however, came through the simple challenges of working with Richard like that, given the somewhat wounded state of our relationship. Just sitting in the room and listening to him teach did funny things to my heart. And I would have some new frustration with Richard about five times every day (sometimes legitimate frustrations… sometimes just plain silly). I can’t tell you how many times I wanted to bail out, how frequently it seemed like far more than I could handle. But the Lord gave me the strength (and vision) that I needed, and I learned a great deal about love.

Leave a Reply

