h1

Thankful for My Parents

December 3, 2006

The only break I had in the chaos of Richard’s class was thanksgiving week. Not only did I get a break from Richard (he flew home for the week) and from all of the work, but my parents were also in town. It was an incredible week. It was so great to have them here. I really enjoyed spending thanksgiving with my family AND with my night watch community. We had thanksgiving dinner twice (the more relaxed and near-perfect version at Audra and Lauren’s house… and then the loud and somewhat hectic version at my house with my roommates and their guests).

While my parents were here, we went to the Nelson-Atkins museum of art. While I really love the museum (especially the approximately 7’ x 15’ Water Lilies by Monet), it is only the second time that I have ever managed to get over there. We also went out to dinner with Anne House (who I help with Mike’s personal administration) and my friend Cheston (who I work with on screens stuff at our conferences and weekend services). I am glad that they were able to meet them.

The day that my parents left was really hard. I would love for them to move here. Perhaps eventually. For now, I just need to work on figuring out how to get them up here again.

Leave a Reply

