h1

The Day After

February 17, 2007

We had my mom’s memorial service last night. It was actually quite amazing. I spent so much time working on the service… trying to make sure that everything was perfect. And every hour spent was well worth the effort. I will not forget that night.

I am so grateful for the help of the dozens of people who came along side us to make everything happen. The ones who came and rescued me when I realized I had filled my plate too full. The ones who I had enlisted from the beginning because I knew they were perfect for the job. The ones who spoke up and reminded me of the little details that I never would have thought of without them. The ones who showed up last night and jumped to take care of whatever need they saw arise.

The service was very fitting to who my mom was. As a friend of mine said, “It was spot on.” 🙂 I believe that we honored her well… remembered her well… and comforted one another well. I only wish she could have seen it.

My dad and I had some much-needed down time this morning. We first spent some time opening cards (and a gift of much starbucks) and reading through the little “Reflections” sheets that we had people fill out toward the end of the service last night. It was amazing to see the incredible impact that my mom had on so many people’s lives.

After that, my dad and I went out for lunch. It was so good. I thoroughly enjoyed our conversation. We talked about grieving… we talked about hope… we talked about our loss… and we talked about our God. I know that God is going to carry us through this. I know that His grace is sufficient. I know that He is our comforter. I know that His goodness never fails.

Lunch was followed by an adventure with flowers. Terry Ramsey (who we asked to do my mom’s service last night) met us up at the church to let us in so that we could pick up the many floral arrangements people had given. They’re so beautiful. And so abundant.

We quickly realized that there was no way that my dad and I could get them all home in his car. We put two of the smaller ones (one in a basket and one very manageable vase) in my dad’s car. And then I situated myself on the floor of Terry’s van and we filled the floor space around me with the remaining arrangements. It was quite the sight. We should have taken pictures…

Virtually every open surface in my room is now filled with floral arrangements. The cats would eat, shred, and destroy if we left them in the rest of the house. So…. my room it is. It looks and smells like a flower shop. Again, I wish that my mother could see and enjoy them… but I am well prepared to enjoy them for her. Oh, how I love flowers. 🙂

In all, today has been a good day. I am still brokenhearted. I still miss her horribly — especially being in her home, surrounded by her things. I still can’t believe the many things that I don’t get to share with her. But God’s goodness has not changed. And He has been so present with us.

And now I have a favor to ask…

If you knew my mother at all, if you had any degree of interaction, I’d like to refer you over to her blog site and ask that you stop by and leave a comment or two. Memories, stories, thoughts… anything. Like I mentioned earlier, seeing the impact that she had on others’ lives has been amazing. And I am learning a lot from it.

Thank you again for all of your prayers. They really do make a difference. I don’t even know what to say. I am grateful.

5 comments

  1. it is good to hear all of this from you; i miss you, though i am certain you are right where you should be right now. i am still praying for you, friend.

    and hey, being surrounded by flowers sounds pretty dang cool. that would be choice number two in my dream world–if i couldn’t own and run a little bakery, i’d want to own and run a flower shop. this is utterly irrelevant information, but i tend to be utterly irrelevant most of the time anyway, so it works.

    God is good. yes. that’s relevant. : ) peace.


  2. can’t wait to give you a hug. . .


  3. I agree with Kacie, it is good to hear your thoughts and your perspective on the whole thing. It is stunning to see your heart remain unoffended and in love with the Lord. You probably don’t realize how amazing it is to be standing where you are and know that He is still good. I am amazed by you and I am praying for you.


  4. The service was beautiful. Your mom had the most amazing heart and it was reflected in every face (and heart) in that room. I will miss her deeply and I will never forget just how wonderful she was.


  5. love you!!



Leave a Reply

