h1

Truthiness

February 27, 2007

OK, in all honesty, Stephen Colbert annoys me beyond all reason. I don’t even understand it. He seems to operate in the kind of humor that I most thoroughly enjoy. It would logically follow that I should love the guy. My dad certainly enjoys him.

However, every time I have caught part of his show, he seems to go just a little bit too far. He takes it to the point where it just isn’t funny anymore. Who knows… maybe I’ve only seen his show when I have been in an extremely bad mood or something. In any case, he drives me crazy. I may enjoy a couple of minutes of the show, but not enough to actually justify staying in the room and watching it.

But… recent contemplation of the word “truthiness” has quite possibly moved Stephen Colbert up a good 20 notches or so.

Truthiness: the quality of preferring concepts or facts one wishes to be true, rather than concepts or facts known to be true

If you are unfamiliar with the word, I recommend checking it out in Merriam-Webster’s Words of the Year for 2006 or in Wikipedia.

Then again… I suppose I might just like it because it is so similar to my true favorite word (of 2007 at least)… thinkiness. (Great in both its function and its origin–birthed on the night of the shady clock.)

Leave a Reply

