h1

More than a Typo

March 10, 2007

So, Amanda’s recent post about typos got me thinking about this again…

Sometimes, when I am writing by hand (we’re talking pen and paper, here), I make some of the same mistakes that I make when I am typing. Shifting a letter from the end of one word to the beginning of the next, flipping letters around within a word, stuff like that. Teh kind of typos tha tyou explain by your fingers striking the keys at slightly off times.

But when they happen on paper… by the pushing around of a pen? How do you explain that?

So… it makes me kind of wonder: Is there really just something wrong with my brain?

Which leads to this question: Am I the only one? Are there any others out there who replicate some of their typos when they sit down to write something out by hand? Has this EVER happened to you?

10 comments

  1. I think it’s a sign of your razor-sharp intellect. That’s what I chalk my writing errors up to, anyway. 😉 Usually it’s because I am thinking of the next word before I’ve finished writing down the first one. Although I’m sure I’ve done my fair share of unexplainably dumb typos… er. “writos”.

    Although I did go through a phase where I would go to write down the number 9, and would end up writing a 2, and vice versa. It was really bizarre.


  2. I do it all the time. Most of my typos on paper are capitalizing problems, though. I have a few scripts up my sleeve, and two of those I tend to use the most–regular print and all-caps. I prefer all-caps because it’s clean and easy. When I’ve been using all-cap writing for a while and decide not to all of a sudden, however, apparently I need to inform my brain of this at least a day in advance.

    YEp. coMEs ouT MucH LikE This, iT sEEMs…


  3. I just have horrible spelling so i make all kinds of spelling/capitalization mistakes all the time – on the computer or on paper. The poor spell check rarely knows what I’m trying to say.


  4. Hmm…I don’t tend to mix letters up as much I simply leave them off the end of a word– “tha” or “th” or “yo” instead of “you”. I think, like Amanda said, it’s because I’m thinking about what I’m going to write next. Sometimes I leave out whole words doing that.


  5. Wow… Kacie and Amanda… I don’t even know what to say. Yall are weird. I guess it’s a good thing I love you both so much. Or I might have to stop being your friend. I mean… 2 instead of a 9. What on earth? And random capital letters… oy. Just kidding. Though those are both pretty strange.

    Jess… I do the same things… leaving off letters and stuff. I think I am usually just getting ahead of myself.

    The thing that really baffles me, though, are those mistakes that I explain by, “My right index finger was being slow,” or, “Oh, my left ring finger just got a little ahead of itself this time.” (Darn those hasty left ring fingers.) Because that clearly isn’t the cause when I actually go through the motions of forming the whole letter with my hand and they still get mixed up. It makes me think my hands might be getting jumbled letters from my brain sometimes when those typos happen… and it isn’t merely the fault of the fingers.

    (Or maybe I just make the typos often enough that my brain just thinks that’s how you spell the words now. Like my hands taught my brain without me noticing it.)

    But… ummm… yeah. Since we don’t have a definite explanation, I’m going with “razor sharp intellect.” That’s the cause.


  6. The 2 and 9 thing was just a phase! I don’t do it anymore! Don’t disown me, Christine! *sobbing*

    Okay. So I guess I just proved I am weird.


  7. i already knew i was weird. no harm, no foul. ; )


  8. Yes. Both of you are weird. And I already knew that you were weird. One might claim that it is part of why I am so drawn to both of you. What can I say? I really like weird people.


  9. Well, apparently weird people really like you, too. 😀


  10. ’tis true. 🙂



Leave a Reply

