h1

Ouch

May 24, 2007

Well, here is the latest in search engine queries that led others to this blog.

As usual, I had an abundance of searches for “IHOP cult” and the like. In fact, only one day in the last week did not involve such a search. I also had several searches related to topics in my “Marriage and Celibacy” posts. And there were even searches for people (Sarah Stroer, Matt Hartke, and Brooke Turner) that brought others here.

But this is the one that REALLY caught my eye…

can an intj love someone

OUCH!!!

As an INTJ myself, I assure you, we can.

Don’t want to take my word for it? I’ll leave you with some words from David Keirsey, who wrote Please Understand Me and Please Understand Me II, two excellent books about what we typically discuss as the Meyers-Briggs Personality Types. …

In his description of the INTJ Mastermind, Keirsey has a very lengthy paragraph describing INTJs and their relationships. He describes several characteristics that may give rise to the “Can an INTJ love someone?” question. Selection of a mate is typically a rational process. We tend to prefer head over heart in making decisions. We only enjoy physical contact with a very select few. And we are not very emotionally expressive. (Yes, these describe me quite well…)

But, in concluding this paragraph on INTJs and their relationships, Keirsey says:

“For all that, however, Masterminds are deeply emotional, even romantic types, and once they have decided a person is worthy of them, they make passionate and loyal mates, almost hypersensitive to signals of rejection from their loved one.”

Yep. It’s true.

2 comments

  1. Haha. I know a few people who could probably bear witness to my hypersensitivity to signals of rejection…

    I mean, no, that’s not true at all. (Is anyone buying it?)


  2. someone was looking for me? weird.

    i had a search yesterday for “parents against IHOP”.



Leave a Reply

