h1

Sugar Before Bed… Bad Idea

September 5, 2007

So… Monday night I did what any person who worked on labor day would do that evening… I overdosed on sugar.

Roasted marshmallows. S’mores. Jello. More marshmallows. 3 bowls (that’s right, I said bowls) of the most sugary juice to ever parade itself as moderately healthy.

Given that oh-so-healthful sugar-fest in my last hours before attempting sleep, I suppose that my failure to achieve unconsciousness should not be shocking. My mind was racing.

So what did I do? Well, I nearly started learning Greek. Isn’t that what every normal person does when sleep gives them the cold shoulder?

Instead of diving into Greek lessons, though, I did some extensive journaling about a great many things. Actually, that’s not true… I journaled extensively about one thing, but from a great many angles. (Close enough.)

It helped. It helped a lot. I eventually managed to sleep. And the matter was no longer obnoxiously pushing its way into my every thought throughout the day today.

I like journaling. I wish I did it as much now as I once did. I tend to sleep better when I sit down with a pen in my hand to talk to God.

I didn’t sleep tremendously well. I dreamt a lot about being a horrible teacher (my present reality). I’ll save the horrible teacher thing for another blog, though. (I will say, for now, that it is a present reality that is in no way permanent. I know that it can change. I am desperate for it to change. But… for now… that’s how it is.)

So… I’m thinking back through this blog and wondering if there was a point to any of it. I’m pretty sure there wasn’t. If there was a point, I forgot what it was a long time ago.

I think I’ll just blame it on yesterday’s sugar overdose. I’m still awake… because I was still awake at this time yesterday… because my body was full of sugar and my mind was full of thoughts.

Sugar is not my friend.

4 comments

  1. Well, you just shot some “professional” advice I saw on TV this morning! On “Good Morning America” they had an expert who said when you have trouble sleeping because of so many thoughts racing through your mind, having a carb-rich snack will release endorphins, which will slow all those annoying thoughts, and you’ll easily drift off to sleep. So much for that idea!


  2. Wow. Where did they find that expert? Because sugar DEFINITELY didn’t have that affect on me.


  3. I have found that a mug of warm milk with 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla flavoring in it does wonders for helping me go to sleep. 🙂


  4. Actually, sugar sort of works for me as a relaxer (v. a stimulant) because quickly after the rush comes the crash. Caffeine, on the other hand, while it may leave me drained and strung out–feeling thin, as Bilbo said, “like butter scraped over too much bread” (or some such)–seems to always keep me awake (though by no means productive) or dreaming fitful, unrestful dreams. But sugar–bad, yes, but it does help me sleep.



Leave a Reply

