h1

I love my students

September 12, 2007

Which is precisely why I hate teaching right now.

I know, I guess that kind of doesn’t make sense.

Here’s the deal. My geometry students at TDA are a fantastic bunch of kids. Seriously. I think I have come to enjoy them more every single day.

I love seeing their personalities come out a bit. I love what they are giving their lives to. I love the fact that they have chosen (yes,  I know their parents had some part in it as well) to study at a school where the spiritual disciplines and the knowledge of God are being pursued with excellence in addition to their academic studies.

The fact that I love these students so much makes it particularly painful to feel that I am doing a poor job of teaching them. I want to serve them better. I want to better practice all of the theory that is bouncing around in my head concerning education. I want to come to class prepared. I want to run my class in such a way that it will challenge them and draw out their potential.

And instead… we have my present reality. I feel like I am hardly keeping up with lesson plans. And when I do have something planned, I end up having to adjust the whole thing drastically because we are progressing more slowly than I would like.

I simply do not have enough time to give to this class. And it is killing me.

I know that I am learning and I know that it is likely to continually get better. Things have improved considerably from week to week already.

In the mean time, however… this is really hard.

2 comments

  1. Alas, love is that way . . .

    Um, and I would say that the fact that you love your kids the way you do is a sign of significant success, no matter how you might feel to the contrary.


  2. i agree with Joel, that and the fact that you are wrestling with these issues shows that you are in fact, a good teacher. you’re just learning to walk it out. carry on.



Leave a Reply

