h1

So, about that schedule thing…

September 21, 2007

I am about half way into two weeks of being super intentional about going to bed on time. It hasn’t been going particularly well. I have gotten very little sleep this week. And, because of a really bad headache that I had (while unable to sleep last night), I ended up missing my set this morning.

I really love Ron’s team. I love their worship with the word. I love their E12. I love their super-long debriefings. But I don’t think I can do it.

So… I’m thinking about going back to nights… partially.

The thing is, I’m not sleeping anyway. (Unless I stop and take a nap.) And this is really hard for me. I miss my team. I miss my friends. I miss being in the prayer room at night. There’s just something about the night watch that I don’t know how to describe.

This is what I am thinking: I’ll stay up until 2am every night. Well, with debriefings and such, it would really be more like 2:30 or 3. But, this should give me plenty of time to get enough sleep before I have to teach twice a week. I would have to slightly adjust my hours at the bookstore, but they have been amazingly flexible with me, and I think it would be fine.

I’m not entirely certain if it is a good idea or not. If I do it, I would probably switch during the conference in October. (I’ll have to be up late for the conference, anyway.) And then Ron’s team can find someone who will actually be faithful and consistent… and awake.

I’m pretty sure Clay’s team still needs someone doing screens for their Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday sets. So I could do that and see my team again.

So… this is the point where I welcome your input. Do I stick with the 6am thing and just assume that, after a few months, my body will finally adjust and I will be able to sleep at night? Or… do I stay up until 2 or 3 am every night? What do you think?

5 comments

  1. I love the early mornings . . . but you’ve always seemed to do better coming from the other side of midnight. So, what I would do isn’t necessarily what you should do. But, Idunno. Helpful, huh?


  2. well, beloved, it could go either way. if you will be intentional about going to bed on nights, i think that schedule would be fine for you. and clay’s team sure could use a screens person on those days (i think they miss having a consistent person in general–they pretty much give me praises every week for my one simple WWW set). if you make the switch back, however, you are really going to have to be intentional about sleeping, probably even moreso than you are now, truth be known. a great whole lot of your friends and a good number of people in your house are on nights and are wide-awake and fun to be with. staying up a few extra hours to kick it will wind up rather kicking you in the rear the next day and sure enough the rest of the week. i don’t know what to tell you other than to put it before the Lord and ask for wisdom. he gives good practical gifts to those he loves… see what happens. maybe he’ll free something up for you and make your decision easier.

    peace to you. keep me posted… i want to see where this goes.


  3. Sounds like good advice from your friend, Kacie!


  4. I always sleep better when I’m doing what I love…


  5. Well… looks like it’s official. I’m going to do it.



Leave a Reply

