h1

OK, People… Seriously…

September 30, 2007

Let it be known: when two people eat a meal together, just because one of them is male and the other is female, it doesn’t mean that they are dating!

And, just for the record, the same thing goes for a guy walking a girl home. We don’t live in happy safe land. Wisdom (and Stuart, too, for that matter) says, “Grab a guy.”

Yesterday, I went out to eat with a friend of mine, Darin. One meal. Just one meal. Within 24 hours, someone asked my roommate, who then asked Darin, if we were dating.

OK, first of all… Darin’s response: “She’s my boss!”
Second: the guy is like 4 years younger than me.
Third: No. Just… no.

I have to admit that I got a pretty good laugh out of it. If you know Darin and I (even just a little bit), you are probably laughing pretty hard as well.

“Are Darin and Christine Dating”??????? Are you kidding me?

Seriously, people, we need to redefine our ideas about guys and girls and their relationships.

There’s this little thing that I like to call friendship. You may have heard of it. Well, believe it or not… such a relationship can also develop between two people of the opposite sex who are genuinely not the least bit interested in dating one another.

If I were dating every guy that I have ate alone with, then there would be a bit of a problem here. But, just to set the record straight:

No, I am not dating Darin Damme.
No, I am not dating Alan Ruiter.
No, I am not dating Kirk Bryson.
No, I am not dating Matthias Bryson.
No, I am not dating David Scoggan.
No, I am not dating Gregory Jaszczuk (whose name I probably just destroyed).

I’m pretty sure those are all of the guys that I have recently shared a meal with (or made plans to share a meal with).

Oh yeah… and since this is the IHOP community and 3-month-to-marriage isn’t completely unheard of around here…

No, my last name will not be changing to Damme, Ruiter, Bryson, Scoggan, or Jaszczuk (which is probably good since I am not even sure that I remember how to spell it) within the next 6 months.

Oy…

6 comments

  1. that’s awesome.

    and i think you did good with greg’s name, minus one z (“jasczuk”, if i remember rightly, pro. jazz-ook, not “jazz-ook-de-cook”, which actually came out of my mouth once in his presence).


  2. That’s happened to me before too…*roll eyes*…


  3. Oh. My. Gosh.

    I heard Darrin joking about it in briefing but I didn’t know people were seriously asking you guys.

    As awesome as you both are, I agree… no.


  4. I DID spell Jaszczuk correctly! I actually bumped into the guy tonight (and scheduled another attempt at doing something together). Anyway… when I spelled his name to him, he told me I got it correct.

    I’m not sure why, but being able to pronounce AND spell Gregory’s last name feels like a huge accomplishment.


  5. ah. well, i tried.

    i am apparently destined to always butcher his name. dang it.

    greg is still cool. period.


  6. This post came up in a conversation earlier, so I came back and read it again. And it amused me. It did.

    I am going to be in Darin’s wedding in less than two months! And I won’t be the one in the white dress. Ha! I still think it’s hilarious that anyone would ask that question.



Leave a Reply

