h1

I’m ready for Wednesday

October 8, 2007

I just have to say that I am soooooooooooooooo ready for a day off. For real.

I kind of had two partial days off last week. I worked for about three hours on Tuesday and something like 2-4 hours on Wednesday. So those were PRETTY close.

Of course, there is no such thing, in my present schedule, as a full day where I am without work commitments of some sort. My days off from the bookstore are Wednesday and Thursday (when possible). But I teach on Thursday. So there goes that day off. But I do cherish the half day that I get off after I teach.

Wednesdays are pretty much it. I have sacred-trusted prayer room hours that night. (Previously, that morning.) That really doesn’t bother me at all. It feels like I hardly ever get to be in the prayer room these days. And, now that I’ve switched to nights, the 2-hour prayer room commitment is actually a REALLY good thing for me. It means that my schedule is locked in after midnight and I am much more likely to get to bed on time (right after I get out of the prayer room at 2).

I prefer not to think, right now, about how my commitment to teach on Thursday infects Wednesdays. I will say this, though: I really look forward to the day when I am not teaching and I can structure my schedule in a way that allows me to have more times of solitude, more time in the prayer room, and more time to get caught up on all of the reading that I need to do throughout the week.

The question is: will that day be in about two and a half months, or something closer to 8 months? As tired and unprepared as I always am these days, I really hope it is two and a half months.

Mondays, in particular, really stretch me (in a spread to thin, “this is killing me!” kind of way). I teach in the morning. No matter where I am with everything else by the end of Sunday night, getting ready for class has to take priority. I go straight from teaching to the bookstore. I go straight from the bookstore to about an hour (to an hour and a half) of time with one of my closest friends. I go from there to “Happy Fun Time”.

Happy Fun Time has a lot of heart-intensive homework and a lot of reading attached to it. And it is likely to make me cry. I always feel like I am unprepared around 5:00 when I can finally leave the bookstore. If I didn’t find a way to be prepared by Sunday evening, there just isn’t a way to do anything about it after that. And Happy Fun Time feels like the kind of thing that is best eased into by a good five hours of down time before-hand. If only Mondays didn’t involve teaching or one of my most chaotic days at the bookstore.

God has been really good to me on Mondays. He keeps sending me all of these random people who offer to help me with things that I need to get done at the bookstore. It’s been amazing. And I am super grateful.

AND… the hour+ with my friend and then the half-hour of worship that beings Happy Fun Time really help me dial down and get ready.

OK… time to go to sleep. I’m still up because I just finished my homework for Happy Fun Time. I couldn’t work on finishing that until I had prepared for class tomorrow. It looks like I’m only getting 4.5 hours of sleep before my Monday begins.

All of that to say… I’m really ready for my day off on Wednesday.

If you ask to schedule a meeting with me that day, the answer is no. Absolutely not. No. I am going to sleep in. I am going to sleep in a lot. And when I do get up, I’m going to wait for a few hours before showering or leaving the happy land of disheveled hair and PJs that define the dress-code for me-time. After that, maybe the gym. After that, maybe some time with my roommate (and one of my all-time favorite people), Amanda. After that… support-raising with my team. After that, the prayer room. After that… sleep again.

Yep. Wednesday is going to be a good day.

One comment

  1. Great to see a good pray-er at work. Even if you don’t get as much time at it as you’d like. Trust that God appreciates when you do pray.

    Bob



Leave a Reply

