h1

I actually did it

November 9, 2007

I did it about 8 hours ago, and I’m still kind of in shock.

I bought a life band… for myself… and I’m wearing it.

I don’t know what happened. I am not even 100% sure why I did it. But I did. And there it is. Sitting on my arm.

It really stinks. Literally. The thing smells bad. Maybe I’m just really sensitive to smells. But it’s nasty smelly plastic and the smell has spread to my arm and hand. Oh great joy.

I didn’t buy it because everyone else is doing it. In fact, that’s one of those things that previously hindered my desire to put a bright red plastic thing around my wrist. (Truth be told, the fact of it being bright red and plastic also had a significant hindering effect.)

For those of you who HAVEN’T been wearing a life band for 3 years, here’s the general idea behind the things.

You make a covenant and the life band is meant to be a symbol of that covenant. The covenant has three parts to it:

1 – You pray for the ending of abortion. “Jesus, I plead Your blood over my sins and the sins of my nation. God, end abortion and send revival to America.”

2 – You will not vote for a pro-choice candidate. In all honesty, the political end of this whole thing has been a major deterring factor for me, as well. Likely the largest one. If you word it in the “I will vote for a pro-life candidate” kind of way, then I’m not ready to make that covenant. But I can certainly commit to not vote for someone who is pro-choice. It will most likely look like me not voting, but we’ll see.

3 – You commit to obey the leadership of the Lord in “works of compassion and justice.”

So what made me give in?

Well… the most significant factor would be a dream I had a few weeks ago. I’m not going to share the details of that dream. But it was pretty stinking obvious on a number of significant points… all related to my heart and the issue of abortion. So, here I am. Responding to the Lord. In what feels like a remarkably miniscule kind of way.

You could also blame a little bit of it on Bella. Good movie. Really good movie. But, it’s really just the Lord.

So… there you have it. My wrist just turned bright red… and it smells really funny.

4 comments

  1. Committing to #2 would definitely look like not voting in my case. Fundamentally, among other things, I don’t find most of the “pro-life” candidates credible (particularly presidential and other national). I wonder, for instance, how many pro-life voters have convinced themselves that it’s okay to vote for Rudy . . . and that’s not even touching the issue of the broader ethics of “life.” Gov. Perry and Pat Robertson have both made that choice. Yeah, um, speaking of credibility . . . .


  2. Wow. I have to agree with both of you on the voting thing. TV news keeps talking about how divided the christian community is, and they can’t understand it. I think there just isn’t anyone running that is truly standing for life, or other Kingdom ideas, as well. On top of that, there seems to be a great number of christians putting non-Kingdom issues ahead of Kingdom issues. We really need Jesus…


  3. We do need Jesus. I’ve never really had enough confidence in any man to actually vote for him. (Much to my parents’ dismay.)


  4. “We do need Jesus.” Indeed, truer words were never spoken. And, yes, at times it has been (and may yet be) to our dismay, but you know me: I’m not entirely convinced that yours isn’t the better path . . . just usually convinced enough that I vote anyway, and effectively cancel out a typical Evangelical’s vote. Ah, it’s all a chasing after the wind. But, happily, the Wind chases back.



Leave a Reply

