h1

Even the Ice

December 11, 2007

Just like the rest of you, I’m not a big fan of falling on my butt or crashing my vehicle into large, stationary objects. Ice on the ground just kind of sucks.

But, tonight… tonight, I’m loving it.

I don’t know… it’s just beautiful. Icicles are beautiful. The once hideous plant in our front yard (now turned ice sculpture) is beautiful. The bare trees with their little drippy clear coating are beautiful. And the shiny, smooth, white fields are beautiful.

As long as you don’t have to go anywhere… the ice can be enjoyed. Otherwise dull surfaces get a chance at being shiny. Everything outside just kind of glows.

And, if you get a chance to play with it a bit, it’s really cool. Grab a chunk of what was snow yesterday but has acquired a clear, solid, and smooth outer shell today. It’s really fun to look at the interaction of the textures — the slightly slushy interior of what remains of the snow and the smooth, solid outer layer of what has melted and frozen together with the falling rain. My gloves are still drying out from playing while Jen put gas in her car tonight.

Of course, had I fallen some time in the last couple of days, I would probably be coming at this from a slightly different angle. But… while I remain gratefully vertical and can just stand in wonder at the pretty things around me… I love it.

4 comments

  1. I agree. And this is a lovely way to find out that you haven’t been adversely affected by the storms that I heard about on the news this morning.


  2. Oh, and just make sure to save some cold something–preferably snow, but “even ice” is okay–for me. It’ll be next week already. 🙂 8 days. Not that I’m counting.


  3. Heh…. a “different angle”, I get it…

    I think it’s actually called “horizontal” or even “flat”…


  4. 🙂



Leave a Reply

