h1

And so it begins

December 26, 2007

onething is officially on.

OK, so onething actually started for me a couple of months ago. Most of November was spent trying to find and hire a bunch of extra people, getting those new people trained, and creating the cashier and crowd-control schedules for the conference. I had other little jobs, but this was my primary onething responsibility.

December was mostly spent filling holes that suddenly appeared in the schedule (hurrah for change… certain, inescapable, perpetual change…). I had more new projects appear in December… but… again… getting that schedule thing to work really did consume a great deal of my time. And communicating with all of the newbies.

Oh… and then we have apparel. That joyous week of opening, sorting, counting, labeling, and boxing apparel. As I walked past the towers of boxes that were filled with clothing, today, I was stunned by how many we really worked through in those few days.

And today… today was spent setting up tables (that were supposed to be ready for us when we got there), setting up thousands of feet of pipe and drape, hanging signs, directing volunteers, moving boxes… and so on… and so on… and so on. It was only seven hours, but my body is done with that concrete floor.

I have to admit… I would love to have a couple of days off before diving into the next five days. But… the Lord will give us strength… and the whole thing is worth it. (Feel free to remind me of that, though… every chance you get until January 3rd.

12 comments

  1. Okay, if you say so… Christine, the whole thing is worth it. 😀


  2. (P.S. The “if you say so” was to the invitation to remind you, not to the statement that it’s worth it. Sigh. This is what happens when filler puns go wrong.)


  3. Hey, if you want to hear something funny…… I just found out that I have Monday off from work… So if you want to donate more hours to my wallet, I can work for you guys on Monday as well as S&S. If not, oh well, if yes… yay!


  4. Christine —

    (1) The Lord will give you strength!
    (2) The one thing is worth it!

    — Brian

    (I like my new one-thing job!)


  5. It’s worth it.

    And, though my tired old body is sore from just the little bit that I participated in yesterday, it was really cool to see things come together. And the fellowship that y’all have at work is pretty extraordinary.

    Actually, as I’ve been telling people about “One Thing,” I’m newly amazed by it. Consider your last post; consider the world and the culture we live in. Y’all (and the Holy Spirit) are calling thousands of young people–young people whom our culture has specifically targeted with the most potent of its distractions and deception and corruption–to prayer and worship, to a fasted lifestyle, to wholehearted dedication to a Man they can’t see. Better still, you’re honest about it: you don’t tell them it will be easy; you tell them it will cost them everything they have and will likely bring them more suffering than they have ever known. And many of them join you in saying “yes.” That is the right choice and with ultimate reward (and some of it immediate). But still, everything our culture tells them argues that it’s foolish and wasteful. And still they say “yes.”

    It’s worth it.


  6. By the way, Christine, it’s worth it.


  7. Just think……….. this weekend could be the single most important time in 1000’s of lives. It just might be reading a book someone buys from the bookstore that seals the deal in their heart and mind through the intervention of the Holy Spirit. The bookstore is such an important resource. You are all doing a great work – you go, girl!!

    P.S. Belated Merry Christmas!!! : )


  8. I was just waiting around for the pizza to cook, and remembered…

    The Lord will give you strength. It’s worth it.


  9. I’m guessing you’re hard at work at the moment, but just so you don’t forget:

    (1) The Lord will give you strength.
    (2) This onething is definitely worth it.


  10. I was going to take today off, but at the last minute, I changed my mind, thinking about how the whole IHOP staff is giving with both hands for the onething conference. Just remember:

    It’s worth it.
    The Lord will give you strength.


  11. The Lord will give you strength.
    It’s worth it.
    Almost to the finish line.
    Happy New Year.

    Btw: It’s worth it; the Lord will give you strength. 2fer
    😉


  12. As I thought of “worth” this morning, these verses came to mind:

    Rom 8.18
    I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us.

    2 Cor 4.17
    For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all.

    Matt 6.26
    Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?

    It’s worth it. We’re worth it. They’re worth it.



Leave a Reply

