h1

Goodbye, Miss Good

April 3, 2008

I’m really sad right now. About 5 hours ago, Amber Good left Kansas City. Left.

About a month ago, I had the opportunity to be only mildly sad when this moment came… but I didn’t take it.

I didn’t start really getting to know Amber until it became official that she was leaving. NORMALLY, in a case like that, I think I would keep the relationship at the friendly (but relatively surface) acquaintance level in which it already existed. You don’t start investing in a friendship with someone when they are about to be gone. You’re just opening yourself up for all kinds of pain when you do that.

Oh yeah… and the joy of getting to know a really fantastic person. You get that, too.

So, I’m really going to miss Amber. I’m not saying she became my best friend over night. We still know relatively little about each other and about our lives. But, I took a little bit of time to discover who she is. And I opened myself up to be known, rather than following my usual instinct to hide from people.

I will miss Amber’s sense of humor. (She really is one of the funniest people I know.) I will miss her openness. I will miss watching the way she responds to people and to situations… the way she takes on life. I will miss Amber’s gift with words. I will miss hearing about her dreams. I will miss those moments when something she is passionate about comes up and you can see little glimpses of that passion.

It would have been “safer” to just leave things as they were. But I’m glad that I got to know Amber Good before she left. I’m pretty sure she’s coming back, anyway. God and I have been talking a lot about it. 🙂

One comment

  1. So, someone searched for Amber and ended up on my blog today. Which made me realize…

    Amber DID come back. And I am now in Harrisburg with Amber (on vacation). It’s funny how things change.



Leave a Reply

