h1

Why I Shrieked in the Bookstore Today

April 16, 2008

When I first started working in the bookstore, books were on sale for bookstore employees. I spent a lot of money. In fact, it took me a while to make as much money in the bookstore as I had SPENT in the bookstore.

I’m not sure if people realize how genuinely true that statement is when I tell them. But I assure you, it took me a while to catch up.

Well… today, I learned something that was mildly horrifying.

I was checking prices on some items that I was about to buy when Amanda asked me, “Do you want to know how much you’ve spent in the bookstore?” I said yes. (Silly girl. Silly, silly girl.)

I know that I spend a lot of money in the bookstore. I was well aware of that fact. But I didn’t have any idea that I spend THAT much money in the bookstore.

Lest we forget: I’m an intercessory missionary. I don’t make a lot of money!

On the bright side, most of it was given to other people.

I’m not going to publish the number here. It’s shameful. But… if you ask me in person, I will gladly share.

Oy…

3 comments

  1. I’m a sucker for books myself. There’s just something about a bookstore that causes feelings of happiness to resonate within me. I think my balance would make me shriek,too!! : )


  2. The bright side is a significant brightness, IMO, and worthy of much rejoicing. Not that you should be irresponsible (and I’m guessing you haven’t been) or drive yourself to financial difficulty, but, yaknow, the giving is loving and it strikes me that you are carrying on a legacy. And, while it makes me sad to think that your mother is no longer here, it makes me very happy to see you live very much in her name (and, indeed, in the Name of our Heavenly Father), but in your own unique way. 🙂


  3. It’s hereditary, your just like your mother, father, and grandmother.



Leave a Reply

