h1

Glowing?

May 9, 2008

In the last 24 hours or so, I have been told by several people that I am glowing. I haven’t actually SEEN that many people, so the frequency of the remarks kind of got my attention.

I think that people are mostly assuming that this has something to do with the fact that I am in a relationship. And it’s true… this certainly is a factor.

Richard and I are dating. He is a good man and I am quite fond of him. Obviously, I’m happy. If OTHER people are as excited as they are (the reactions have been amazing), it is surely no wonder that I am also pretty excited. (It’s a good thing. And I am, after all, the one in the relationship.)

However, I feel that I should note that this is not the only reason that I might be “glowing”.

1. God is amazing.

Even the fact that Richard and I are dating again shows the goodness of the Lord to me. The last two years haven’t exactly been easy or a picture of relational wholeness and perfection. Not in the least. So… the fact that our friendship has seen considerable restoration and we have the courage to try, despite the fact that we are understandably scared, definitely speaks to the amazing power that God works in our lives.

Beyond that, though, I just spent a week inviting the Lord into some really deep, untouched places in my heart… letting Him meet me in my pain and letting Him love and heal, as He does so well. I had several days of the Holy Spirit (in partnership with some amazing men and women) ministering to me in profound ways. Freedom makes a person glow. Restoration makes a person glow.

The more I think upon the Lord, the more I see His goodness. There more I talk to the Lord, the more I fall in love with Him. The more I abide and rest in the Lord, the more my heart is won over by His incredible beauty. Basking in the light of His countenance… that will make a person glow.

2. I spent a lot of time in the sun this week.

Sunlight is really good for us. When you are on the night watch, you don’t get a lot of it. Let me just direct your eyes to the top of the screen… “Missing the Sun… extremely pale.” I am generally a profoundly pale person.

Well, this week, I also spent a considerable amount of time in the sun. After breakfast, I would sit outside in the morning sunlight. During every short break that I was given, I would sit out in the sun. In fact… people started calling it my wall, that little perch where I could so regularly be found.

So, I’m not as pasty white as I usually am. People often tend to think that I am glowing when I am not so deathly pale. It makes sense.

So… there you have it. Am I glowing? Perhaps. Are there good reasons for that? Definitely.

5 comments

  1. I’m so delighted to hear this news.
    Go God!


  2. Yea!!! God is so good! And just for the record, I don’t think you’re at all overly pale even under normal circumstances. But then, I guess we’re not exactly the most pigmented people on the planet either… Do you suppose you just don’t seem overly pale to me because I also am overly pale? Now there’s an odd thought… <off to stare at self in mirror for uncomfortably long time…


  3. 🙂


  4. You are very wise. Though I am very happy that you and Richard are dating again,
    it is the Lord and him only that will really make us Glow. I am so thrilled that your week was good.

    I also agree with Dorean, you have a beautiful complexion. Talk to Amy, she is happy with her paleness. I just use Pond’s creams with color. It works.
    Love ya kid.


  5. See, silly me thought your “glowingness” had something to do about the lack of sleep you had prior to me seeing you on Thursday… but hey, I was close, right… RIGHT?!?!?!



Leave a Reply

