h1

62 Minutes

July 22, 2008

I don’t get it. I don’t understand why I am still awake. And I really don’t get this… 62 minutes.

I wanted to be asleep at 7 AM today. The first time I looked at the clock, it was 7:02.

Still awake, I looked at the clock a while later. 8:04.

After another failed attempt at sleeping, I did a little proof-reading (nothing quite as soothing as incorrect grammar and punctuation that you actually have the power to fix). As I readied for another attempt at the sleep thing, I looked at the clock. 9:06.

At 9:06 I called to see if I could skip a 2 PM meeting. I got the OK on that, grabbed my eye pillow from the freezer (the one that smells very strongly of chamomile and lavender), and headed back to bed… again.

I got a little drowsy a couple of times, but never quite drifted off to sleep. I had a bothersome sentence floating through my head for a while. But I still tried to sleep. It didn’t work. I curled up in the fetal position and cried for a while. Still awake. Finally, I looked at the clock. 10:08.

What on earth?

Who looks at the clock every 62 minutes?

If I’m still awake at 11:10…

5 comments

  1. “You who call on the Lord, give yourselves no rest, and give him no rest till he establishes Jerusalem and makes her the praise of the earth.”
    (Isaiah 62:6-7)

    Darn it! I knew I should have prayed on the microphone for Israel tonight!

    😉


  2. Wow. Isaiah is a really good book.


  3. “The cowering prisoners will soon be set free;
    They will not die in their dungeon,
    nor will they lack bread.”
    Isaiah 51:14

    I don’t know why… that verse just stood out for some reason. I love this book!


  4. “‘Though the mountains be shaken and the hills be removed, yet my unfailing love for you will not be shaken nor my covenant of peace be removed,’ says the Lord who has compassion on you.”
    Isaiah 54:10

    Abounding in steadfast love and faithfulness!


  5. i have that same eye pillow… i love the way it smells…

    divine.



Leave a Reply

