h1

That whole thankfulness thing

November 30, 2008

My mom absolutely loved Thanksgiving. In fact, she loved it more than I ever really understood.

One of her favorite things to do every Thanksgiving was create our thankful lists and read them out loud as a family. Sometimes we were really late in actually doing this, but she liked to make a point of doing it every year.

I would procrastinate. I would resist. I would get frustrated at the inevitability of my list being imperfect and incomplete. But the exercise of making a list of things I was thankful for was always really good for my heart.

So, in honor of the mother that I so terribly miss, I’m making a brief list of whatever random things come to mind as I sit here at my laptop.

I AM THANKFUL FOR…

The 24 years that I did have with that incredible mom person, Deborah Keeley Wasinger

My dad and our growing relationship

My roommates (these are some pretty amazing ladies… for sure)

My non-roommate-y closest girl friends

Brothers… friends who are guys who love me so well and don’t confuse my heart…

A handful of guys who have confused my heart at one time or another but are still very valuable friends

Our worship team and Clay’s leadership of that team

The NightWatch

IHOP in general… I was made for this, and I actually have the opportunity to do it

New Hope

My extended family

Snow!!!

Wassail… and friends who will make it for me (Well, I guess that’s Matthias… who already fit in an earlier category… but… the wassail deserved mentioning. Especially since I am presently in pain because of it… oh what a happy discomfort!) ((OK… you could put Amanda in that category, too. But she’s already in like 3 categories. In any case, I am really grateful for those two.))

Anne House … and the fact that I get to work for her

Living Waters

My bookstore family

My former winter watermelon friend who has truly honored me and loved me well

Things that make my windows dark so that I can actually sleep well during the day

Melatonin and Excedrin… and the fact that there will be a day when I won’t have need of either of those two things

The fact that God healed me the other night when I was so desperately pleading for a little “here, I love you” gesture to comfort my heart in knowing that He is with me and able and WILL carry my heart through this overwhelmingly difficult season

My current journal (I keep meeting the Lord when I sit down to write… and the journal is really beautiful)

Mountains (and every opportunity I get to see them)

Ginger

Mangoes

Chai… mmmm

Electricity

Those who partner with me in prayer and finances… who help me live my dream like this

Thought-provoking conversation

Move-my-heart-to-love-God-more conversation

Lavender

“Shark Loop” and my A-M-A-Z-I-N-G bedroom

The Bible and the fact that it moves my heart

The Lord God gracious and compassionate, slow to anger, and abounding in steadfast love and faithfulness

God’s sure promises… my hope… the coming day

I could continue to go on for a very long time, but it’s time for bed. So there’s my list for this year. I am very thankful. Even in the midst of pain and grief and loss and barrenness and a multitude of difficulties and challenges, my heart is alive and God is good. I love my life. I love life.

Leave a Reply

