h1

Marshmallow Magic

December 14, 2008

OK, so there wasn’t anything too magical about the experience I am about to share.

I was over at Becca’s house the other night, playing games with some friends. We had hot chocolate and some REALLY stale marshmallows. The nice thing about stale marshmallows is that they are slow to melt. You get to enjoy their marshmallow-ness a little bit longer before they melt into the general sweetness of the liquid chocolate.

Well, I was just about to swallow a near-solid glob of marshamallow when Tommy made me laugh. The marshmallow seized the opportunity and launched up my nose.

You know that feeling when you are drinking water (or, worse, Dr. Pepper) and laughing sends the drink up the back of your nose? You know how painful that is? You know that sting?

Yeah… imagine that… with something more-or-less solid in the middle.

QUITE the experience.

A couple of minutes later, I’m wondering why I never really felt the marshmallow come out. I’m gently sniffing (pre-snort) when … THUD. There it is!

I’m pretty sure everyone at the table heard it. I was in tears, I was laughing so hard. Or maybe I was in tears because a marshmallow that had just dislodged itself from my nasal cavity.

It’s not a trick I recommend trying. In fact, it’s not a trick I ever intend to repeat. But now we all know that I can do it.

5 comments

  1. Reminds me of a stunt I saw on TV once in which a guy placed a miniature marshmallow in his nose, then blew it across the stage to another guy who caught it in his mouth. They repeated this trick numerous times, and amazinly enough, the catcher was still smiling at the end.
    Quite a testamint to the happiness-generating properties of the humble marshmallow.

    So does this mean you could improve on the trick by claiming to be an auto-loader? I’d buy a ticket to see that act. Once 😉


  2. I’m pretty sure we all heard it as it dislodged itself from your nose, it was pretty much one of the most awesome things I have ever seen. Oh how I wish we had it captured on video somewhere!!!


  3. I once saw a guy on Letterman do a stupid human trick where he squirted milk out his tear ducts. Y’all should team up. 🙂


  4. Oh yeah!! I love it! I had a similar experience with laughing and salsa once – not a good combo at all. Needless to say it was not as gentle as the stale marshmallow experience you had – hehe!! I LOBE IT!! Thanks for sharing!


  5. meant to say, “I LOVE IT!!”, not “I LOBE IT!!” – hehe!



Leave a Reply

