h1

Slightly Partial, Perhaps?

December 17, 2008

I love winter so much that I genuinely believe that it should be longer than the other seasons. Weird.

I made a statement in my last post about this being a good winter, thus far. And then it struck me that winter hasn’t even technically started, if you consider the winter solstice to be the beginning of winter.

I never think of winter as REALLY starting on the 21st or 22nd of December (I guess it can happen the 20th or 23rd as well). (As fantastic as it would be for my birthday to be the official kick-off of the coolest season of the year. No, I really didn’t mean for there to be a pun there. Darn it!)

Some places traditionally consider the winter solstice  to be mid-winter. That makes sense to me. I firmly believe that all of December should count as winter. (November is debatable.)

At the same time, however, I am not willing to consider it spring until the vernal equinox. Then and only then.

Maybe it is fair for winter to be a longer season, pushing into time that might righfully belong to spring and fall if we were operating on an equality-based system.

Really, it’s all about winter and summer, anyway.  Spring is essentially pre-summer and fall is essentially pre-winter, nothing more. They’re beautiful! But they are merely transitional periods. Like… almost every “season” at IHOP. Transitional. (Though, my personal “seasons” at IHOP seem to include PLENTY of winter.)

Actually… now that I think of it, why on earth would anyone make the solstice the beginning of winter anyway? Obviously, that should be the middle. It’s the shortest day (longest night) of the year. Sounds like the middle of winter to me.

Well.. whatever. It’s all mostly subjective anyway. But sometimes calendars will mark the solstices and equinoxes as the first days of their respective seasons… rather than using the handy little latin names. But, unless I happen to be looking at one of those calendars, I am just going to not be bothered by the whole thing. Yes… that’s the plan. Not being bothered.

2 comments

  1. Firstly… Amen to the Winter Awesomeness. While it is cliche, (after all, if you are born in winter, your parents were busy in the Spring) it is still a rather exclusive club to be in.

    Secondly… The Beattie humour seems to rubbing off a bit… the puns are the first sign of infection.


  2. I was wondering about this the other day, and I also wrote on it, saying it needs to be changed. I think it should be based on the actual weather. If scientists need a set date for their record-keeping, let them use what’s currently there, referring to the Latin names. But for the rest of us, let’s determine it based on what actually happens.



Leave a Reply

