h1

Can’t IHOP Move?

December 19, 2008

I love this place. Montana makes my heart happy. Really, really happy.

The mountains. The awesomeness. The completely different lifestyle. The beauty. The … beauty.

Every time I visit this place, I am convinced that I want to spend the rest of my life here. But IHOP isn’t here.

Maybe I’ll help plant a house of prayer around here someday. Maybe. I really love it up here.

Everywhere we go, I get excited. This place is beautiful and fantastic… and the people here know it. Oh to call Montana my home again.

I keep thinking about how much I want to bring all of the people I love up here. Not permanently. I mean, I do want to bring them up here permanently, but I have been thinking about bringing people up to visit. I’m not quite plotting the complete alteration of my friends’ lives yet.

Well… time to go continue enjoying my family. 🙂 And breathing takes just a tiny bit more work here… so I should go do that. 🙂

6 comments

  1. I remember when we had first moved back up from Missouri and you said that the mountains made your head hurt. I knew you’d come around. 🙂


  2. Count us in to plant the MT house of prayer! I’ve wondered if anyone else is from around there! I grew up in a small town in Wyoming, 2 hours south of Billings, MT. I really, REALLY miss the mountains and would enjoy going back. Mountains and Awesomeness – they go hand in hand 🙂


  3. The timing of your comment was so funny! Just moments before the email notification dinged on the laptop beside me, I had randomly confessed to my roommate a tension that I was feeling. I was feeling the tension of never wanting to leave this community, but wanting to see houses of prayer established around the world. Planting a house of prayer was once really in my heart to do. I imagine that it still is. It’s just buried under a lot of… something. Probably a lot of pain.

    Anyway, it was just really funny to have someone comment on the only subtle hint of any lingering desire to do so that I have allowed to even sort of squeak out in the last several months.

    I am delighted to find (be found by) someone else who loves the mountains and who has come from that chunk of beauty and glory in the upper portion of our nation.


  4. Late response (my wife just had our first – a boy!), BUT, I totally understand the tension. I could only go if some of my friends here suddenly caught the vision, too. Oh well, I suppose that’s what eternity is for. However, I just listened to one of Mike’s old messages about prayers lasting for eternity, and how blessed KC will be because of all the prayers spoken over it now. It made me think, “Man, I wish that was happening in MT, WY, and ID!”

    And the timing of that first comment is too funny. It makes me wonder about houses of prayer established outside of the 500 mile radius, or ones established without all the prophetic history. Do they still get ‘anointed’ and does God still bless those HOP’s?


  5. Congratulations (your son)!

    Late responses are fun! They make me go back and see my old posts and the dialogue they may have started. Sometimes, this is a delightful experience and I find that I actually enjoy my blog. Occasionally, it’s a little horrifying. (You know, those moments where you read something you wrote and go, “Why on earth did I say it like that?” Or, “Did I really publish that thought on the internet?”)

    Are you from that area?

    I think this whole “Houses of Prayer” thing is so on God’s heart that all of them have a great heap of blessing ahead of them. And, while we don’t have all of Kansas City’s prayers in the account for that region, I think there are a fair number of people who carry MT, WY, & ID in their hearts. He loves to give and He loves to give extravagantly. So… it isn’t the same, but it’s awesome, whatever His response will be to the prayers of His people who He has caused to love and intercede on behalf of that place. We’re really just partnering with His heart when we pray, anyway.

    That was kind of a long response. And those aren’t the clearest sentences I have ever written. (Honestly, my thoughts are probably still a little fuzzy as well.) But… there you have it. 🙂

    Thanks for speaking up!


  6. So… a house of Prayer in Missoula, MT is really on my mind right now. That brought me back to this post. I just have to comment on how amused I am by what I just observed in the comments. “I grew up in a small town in Wyoming” followed by my asking, three comments later, “Are you from that area?” In my defense, a lot of time did pass between the comments. BUT… let’s face it… I clearly was not paying attention (probably didn’t connect the dots between the first and second “Nate” for some reason). NightWatch brain?



Leave a Reply

