h1

Feeling Very Loved

January 6, 2009

Bob Sorge spoke on Friday night. Incredible message. Wendy and I watched the archive of it on Saturday night (her sabbath; I love what that girl does with her free time).

I cried. A lot.

Bob talked about the letter to the church in Laodicea (Revelation 3). “As many as I love, I rebuke and chasten.” He also, as one might expect, talked a bit about Hebrews 12.

In short, I’m feeling loved. Very loved.

I really appreciate it when Bob speaks. It’s a rare event. Due to a vocal injury several (16-ish?) years ago, it is very painful for Bob to speak publicly. Very painful, and little more than the loudest whisper he can muster up. But I find that I am tremendously blessed by it every time he does speak.

It’s amazing what God will do with a heart that says yes to him in the midst of pain and hardship.

If you can, watch the archives of the message. I think we keep all the services archived for at least a week. If nothing else, check out one of Bob’s books. Good stuff. Really good stuff.

4 comments

  1. We watched it last night. Wow. As a person with a chronic illness, waiting on God, I really appreciate what Bob has to say. It’s life-giving for me to hear someone speak that is in the trenches, rather than someone who only has head-knowledge about the whole suffering thing. The first thing I ever read from Bob was his book “Pain, Perplexity, and Promotion”. It’s an amazing book.


  2. So, what I’m wondering is, given the references, if feeling “loved” means feeling a little beat up, um, in a loving way, of course.


  3. That is precisely what it means.


  4. Isn’t it wonderful to know that love equals pain…

    I guess it could adaquately be said then that love is the highest of all human experience, summing up both bliss and hell in a single maxim. Not to wax too Bohemian, but it makes one pause when you are then told that someone loves you. It means that not only are you a source of joy for that person, but that you also have the power to injure them.

    [CK]



Leave a Reply

