h1

That Holy Spirit

February 1, 2009

So, I’m really in love with the Holy Spirit right now.

Fellowshipping with the Holy Spirit is one of the wisest things Mike has ever told me to do (from the platform). Fellowshipping with the Holy Spirit is one of the wisest things I have listened to Mike about and done. The Holy Spirit is so easy to talk to.

Most of my childhood, I struggled with anxieties related to abandonment and neglect. (…Despite that fact that I was the only child of two fantastic, godly people. They weren’t PERFECT, and the accuser is all about working fear in our hearts.) The Holy Spirit never leaves. He is ALWAYS with us. He will be forever. His presence is inescapable.

It is by the power of the Holy Spirit that we abound in hope. As many of you have surely realized by now, hope has become one of my big things… the things that I think about and talk about and pray about all the time. The Holy Spirit is the one who gives me joy and peace. He is the one who teaches me and reminds me of the promises of God and causes my heart to come alive in waiting for those things.

John 14-17 is my current obsession in the Bible. Jesus talks about the Holy Spirit quite a bit in those little chapters. And it’s beautiful. I love it when one of the persons of the Trinity speaks about another person of the Trinity. Few things are as beautiful as one person’s description of another that they love and know perfectly.

The Holy Spirit serves me all the time. What humility! God lives in me. God serves me. (How much do we ask for the ministry of the Holy Spirit.)

The Holy Spirit is my Comforter. When you stop numbing pain and running from it, a Comforter is a pretty handy thing to have.

He is the Spirit of Truth. I am becoming a lover of truth. He is making me a lover of truth.

He is the Spirit of Life. He has awakened my dull, deadened heart and made me alive. He has made me love life. He is renewing me. He is renewing the earth. He is preparing a bride for the worthy Bridegroom.

He leads me into all truth. I want to pursue the knowledge of God and all that He would reveal to me with all that I am.

He gives me strength and grace to overcome. He empowers me to love.

He reveals Jesus. Jesus reveals the Father. I know God by talking to God. And He delights in giving revelation as I hunger and search.

He makes me love Jesus. He makes me love the Father.

He leads me perfectly.

I LOVE the Holy Spirit. He is my friend. He is  my companion. He is God… WITH me.

Holy Spirit = WOW. (Like, hours and hours and hours of WOW… in tears and joy and wonder and love and all of the richest of emotions.)

2 comments

  1. We were studying the Nicene Creed in World History last week. I had the students find at least one bible verse to support each claim made in the Creed, partly to find out first hand if it’s reliable and partly to stir up their faith. It definitely stirred up mine.

    The stuff the Creed says about the Holy Spirit and the bible verses it sources are amazing. My favourite part is the Holy Spirit as “the giver of life.” There’s so much to say about that one phrase alone.


  2. Sometimes I really wish I was in your history class.

    I love the Nicene Creed. We usually stood to say the Creed at the Episcopal church that I was attending (and will definitely attend again for Holy Week). Simply reading the creed has made me cry more than once. (No joke.) ESPECIALLY the stuff at the end.

    I love the Holy Spirit stuff in there. “Giver of life.” 🙂 Yes… love it.

    My favorite part of the entire thing is “We look for the resurrection of the dead and the life of the world to come.” Which really has a lot to do with the Holy Spirit.



Leave a Reply

