h1

How many weddings have you helped with?

March 7, 2009

Mysteriously, people have this idea that I have helped with a bunch of weddings. Before tonight’s wedding, though, I have never really been THAT involved in helping with a wedding. Here are a few weddings people think I have helped coordinate:

Chris & Pamela Harms
What I actually did: I helped Bret and Brandie Mavrich with the catering and helped set up the reception room. The extent of my help with the catering was cutting some stuff… stirring some stuff… opening some jars… and helping assemble and transport plates of food. That was it. I did recruit a few other helpers for that day (a couple of which were ACTUALLY useful in the kitchen). But this hardly qualifies as helping plan a wedding.

Darin & Kacie Damme
What I actually did: All I did for Darin & Kacie’s wedding was basic bridesmaid stuff. I was kind-of-top-dog-ish-of-the-maid-of-honors (official title). It’s really just a complicated way of saying “organization and planning girl”. This means that I handled most conceivable maid of honor duties (communication with the other two girls, planning and hosting the showers and bachelorette party, with help… figuring out bridesmaids’ dresses). However, unless I have forgotten something, I didn’t really do that much for their wedding either. Now, the showers and the dress drama did require a lot of time and were slightly challenging. So maybe that is why people thought I was doing more than I was. I don’t know. But… that was pretty much it.

David & Kristen Scoggan
What I actually did: Once again… I really had no part in this wedding. I handed out most of the reception invitations that went to NightWatch people… because I was on the NW and would actually see those people. I did make it onto the invitation list for that very small wedding, but I’m pretty sure that had something to do with the fact that I was dating the Best Man. AND… I baked a couple of cakes for their reception. Very minor details in the grand scheme of wedding planning, if you ask me.

Other than that, I have worn a pretty dress and stood at the front of a church for 20-30 minutes. I have helped clean up after a weddings. And I have a helped with minor decoration stuff. Oh… and I helped Audra bake & decorate something like a million (yes, gross exageration) cupcakes for the other Damme wedding (Travis and Jessica). But those have been things that SEVERAL other peolple were also doing on all of those occasions. So, you see… I’m really not that helpful or experienced after all. 🙂

In any case, I cannot tell you how many times, in the last few days, I have been asked how many weddings I have helped with. And I cannot fully communicate how surprised people have been when I’ve said that this was pretty much it.

It’s all a mystery to me.

Leave a Reply

