h1

Boldness

March 30, 2009

I am watching the DVDs of David Pawson’s recent visit. I LOVE that man. What he just said was really resonating in me, so I decided to push pause (on the DVD and my admin) and write a quick little post-let.

He talked about the Greek word “parrhesia”, translated boldness. Here’s what he said:

“God is looking, not just for people who speak in tongues to him, but who will speak in boldness to a world that needs to hear the truth. And the Holy Spirit gives both gifts. So are you as keen to have the gift of boldness of speech as you are to speak in tongues? Hallelujah if you are. Because it takes great courage to tell the truth to a sinful world.”

YES. Holy Spirit, give me the gift of boldness. Purify my speech and make me a wholehearted lover of the truth, without compromise. Give me courage to speak against the spirit of this age and to be a witness and messenger of the truth.

I never really wanted boldness before. I’ve always had some vague notion of the implications of that… and they terrified me. The Lord knows that. So the simple fact of my desiring to be a messenger and saying yes to His invitation to this kind of partnership is evidence of God moving. So it’s going to happen. It’s still somewhat horrifying. But He only really asks me to lean and to rest in His leadership, anyway. (Ummm… and to die. But… whatever.)

2 comments

  1. i wish i had been able to attend more of mr. pawson’s teachings that weekend; i have only heard amazing things about him, but only got the 6pm sunday service glimpse (which was a still rewarding).


  2. I love you–and the way you think and the way you write. I know that’s not profound or revelatory, but I feel like it needed to be said.



Leave a Reply

