h1

Montana Trip

August 13, 2010

I have recently returned from one of the most enjoyable trips I have ever taken.

Ben and I spent about a week and a half in Montana for a family reunion and then for a wedding on the other side of my family. (I am one of very few people in my family who are so unfortunate as to NOT live in or near Montana. For now.)

The Wasinger family reunion took place near Glacier National Park. We camped for several days on the Hungry Horse Reservoir. (A Montana reservoir is what many sad states would call a “lake” because they are not awesome enough to have any lakes that are not made by men. Montana, however, is not so lame… so this little dammed-up body of water is not pretending to be anything that it is not.)

The fact that we even got to go to Montana felt like a miracle. We encountered numerous obstacles along the way. But when we asked, God made it happen. And I am so very grateful for those days that I spent surrounded by beauty.

I love Montana. I love camping. I love my family. I love Ben. Naturally, the combination of these things made for a delightful series of days.

I got to see some of my favorite people. (My family is pretty fantastic.) I also got to meet a few members of my extended family for the first time.

My most exciting discovery was my dad’s cousin Rayminda, her Kiwi husband Scott, and their two amazing daughters. After spending a full day in Glacier with Rayminda, her mother (my great aunt) Patti, and the two girls, I wanted children more than ever before. Seriously… loved those girls. (And not just because the youngest nearly crushed all of us in a game of Settlers the next day.) I really hope to have more interaction with that family in the future. They love Jesus and their presence was refreshing.

I only have one argument against having future family reunions in the woods. No showers, but lots of pictures. By the third for fourth day, everyone is starting to look a little rough. But do the cameras go away? Of course not! It’s a family reunion!

I also really enjoyed the time that we had with some of my favorite members of my dad’s family (who shall remain nameless for the sake of NOT snubbing everyone else).

One of the highlights of the trip was my vacation from wedding planning. I didn’t have cell reception up there. No internet. I COULDN’T plan if I wanted to. (For the record, though… I didn’t want to.)

But the best part of all… being with Ben. My family loved him. He loved my family. And it’s actually possible that I MIGHT be marrying a man who loves Montana as much as I do.

I don’t know how long it will take, but I can say that we are both dreaming about living in Montana. Someday.

Leave a Reply

