h1

The Cat in Me

December 1, 2011

When I was a child, I believed I was half cat and half human. Then I grew up and realized I was fully cat and fully human (kind of like the God-man… only completely different).

OK… so I wasn’t delusional. I knew both of my parents were human. But I was an only child and our cats became like my siblings. I loved cats so much and spent so much time pretending to be one (complete with cat kisses to the face) that a part of me just decided it was something kind of like the truth.

But enough about the weird ideas of a feline-obsessed child.

Lately, I have been thinking a lot about a particular trait that I share with many of my furry friends: I love it when my forehead is touching something. It is one of the most soothing sensations in the world. Since it helps me fall asleep, pillows most frequently supply this comfort. But soft things in general or any form of light pressure will work.

I’ve seen many cats seek the same blissful arrangement. Seal, our gorgeous grey kitty, is especially committed to obtaining this delight. Fortunately, her feline flexibility makes the task a great deal easier than it always looks.

My favorite moments are when Seal forces me into the arrangement. She has this bad habit of settling in on my iPhone. More than once, when I have reached over her in an attempt to reclaim my phone (or some other object she had effectively stolen), she has wrapped her paws around my arm to pull it down against the top of her head. Every time, I think the cuteness factor of the moment might actually injure me and I have to grit my teeth to resist shrieking. I have survived each adorableness overdose, thus far, but I often leave the scenario a little sore. (I am generally incapable of taking my arm back in moments like that and will thus remain awkwardly positioned for unreasonable stretches of time.)

And it isn’t just Seal. When I was in junior high, our neighborhood was adopted by a white cat that everyone called “Baby”. (Actually, that’s not true. One family called him “Keeper”.) In my favorite picture of him, he is laying in the standard sphinx pose… only his neck was stretched down all the way so that the top of his head was flat against the surface upon which he rested.

The whole thing makes me wonder. Why do cats like that so much? Why do I like that so much? Is it normal? Do other people do this? Is everyone else just missing out?

Whatever the case may be, I am burying my forehead in an extra pillow tonight.

2 comments

  1. Yaknow, Buddy is especially fond of this sort of thing. Just sayin’. 😉


  2. Well, I haven’t been prepared to completely lose all hope for your cat. He does, on occasion, bother to do cat-like things. I just think he spends more of his time doing dog-like things.



Leave a Reply

